Star Wars plus Twitter-sized trailer reviews

Today I finally got to see Star Wars: the Force Awakens. Finally, after having to cancel the tickets back from opening weekend due to a family emergency. It was so worth the wait.  I’m also surprised at how spoiler free the internet was overall. See, we can accomplish something if we work together!

bb8

No spoilers here. All I will say is that I was completely immersed.  Some people have been nitpicky, but most things have a simple explanation that does not need a novel to explain away. So there…

Also, I really enjoyed John Boyega and Daisy Ridley as our up and coming heroes. The comedic exchanges peppered throughout were funny without being cheesy. And how could I forget BB-8? So cute, without the saccharine (or inspiring the impulse to scream a la Jar Jar Binks*).

And seeing the original cast brought tears to my ears, on many levels.

I can only hope that J.J. Abrams can keep up the momentum with the next movies.

Movie aside, let’s talk trailers. I swear we used to see like 4 trailers before movies when I was a kid, now we’re up to something like 8? Anyway, this is my twitter-sized reviews of the trailers:

Warcraft – looked better than I expected. A little generic as far as story, but it is the lore

X men something or another – meh. i lost track of this franchise a long time ago. Somebody did something, timeblip.

Superman vs Batman – we all know Wonder Woman is the real star here, while the boys bicker

Fifth Wave – based off a book, standard alien takeover movie

Independence Day, the unfunny version – standard alien takeover movie

Gods of Egypt – apparently in an alternate history, all the main people in Egypt were white. Who knew?

The jungle book remake – could be good kid movie?

and some other movie that didn’t have aliens, orcs, or explosions…

 

*Jar Jar, like the rest of Episode I, could have been kid friendly without being ridiculous. I know Lucas wanted SW to be for kids, but you can make a kid-friendly movie without it being completely implausible and annoying.

Leave a Reply

