2015…Don’t be a jerk

I did not make any New Year’s resolutions this year.  My fitness journey I’ve already started, my writing life is going well.  Since I’ve begun taking care of myself both physically and emotionally through creative work, I’ve learned how to love and laugh more and all that good stuff.  So this isn’t really about me.  It’s about this trend I’m seeing where it seems to now be okay to degrade people who do make resolutions.

Yes, i understand that no one actually needs a new year to make a resolution or goal.  If you want it or dream it, just go for it whenever you feel ready. But for some people, the new year does bring the promise of starting over. Personally for me 2014 was a relatively bad year (I say relatively because there were people that had it worse, much worse, than I did) so I get that when that new year rolls around it’s like a breath of fresh air to the struggling person.

As long as someone is serious about changing something in their lives, we as friends should be supportive. It’s hard because I know the gym is going to be packed with New year’s resolutioners. And yes, many will not make it past February 1 and that’s okay because some will. And maybe that will inspire those who dropped out to come back at some point and change themselves.

One other things that bothers me: people who say that you shouldn’t need to make resolutions because you should love yourself as you are.  Okay…but making a resolution or goal to change doesn’t mean that you don’t like yourself. All it means is that you want to enrich your life, become more, stretch yourself more. It doesn’t need to be such a negative thing. I can love myself but still have goals to make my life better. They’re not exclusively mutual concepts.

So, if you don’t have a goal or you’re already knee deep in change, remember that we’re all on this watery rock together. Be supportive, be graceful, be the kind of person that makes the world a better place for others who may be struggling.

There's never a bad time

There’s never a bad time

3 thoughts on “2015…Don’t be a jerk

Leave a Reply

