Revenge of the Leftovers

Thanksgiving was full of win. Wednesday night I made the pumpkin soup and the pumpkin cheesecake sopapillas so all the flavors had overnight to meld. Considering how easy both recipes are, things went pretty smoothly with no major catastrophes. (Long-time readers know of my love/hate relationship with cooking, mainly that I love to eat and hate to cook).

My mom’s dinner Thursday outdid last year’s with turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, roasted root veggies, corny corn casserole, green beans, homemade cranberry sauce, some kind of apple and cranberry dish, stuffing, muffin basket, and from-scratch biscuits (Im sure im missing something).  My uncle brought his new GF who seems a lot nicer than his ex-wife, and friends of the family joined us since they were not invited elsewhere. I tried to help out as much as possible but i know my mom was in some pain when we were cleaning up (and it bothers me that she was holding her side. As a colon cancer survivor i worry when i see her with that pain but she’s adamant that she wont undergo treatment should she get cancer again).

Friday we joined my mom, stepdad, and sister’s family on our annual trip to Delaware to Coleman’s Tree Farm. It was a beautiful day so the kids were able to enjoy the playground after we picked out the trees then we had ice cream outside (!) – although i had a pumpkin whoopie pie – and then went back to my mom’s for Revenge of the Leftovers.

It’s odd because just a few years ago I was more worried about making it out to the club on Wednesday night for the biggest club night of the year and now, I couldn’t care less. Sure, i’d like to go dancing once in a while, but it’s certainly not the focus of my life like it once was. I have so many more productive things i can be doing although one of my writing friends keeps trying to get me to go to Dorian’s parlour for the steampunk nights.  I think I will have to take her up on that offer soon 🙂
….
On the writing front, I’m working on edits for a story that I am very excited about and can’t wait to submit. I received some good feedback on this rewrite and am really proud of all the work I put into it. I’m also excited because this is a story I really loved but I was able to cut away a lot of great writing that no longer fit my vision, or the needs of the story.
Leave a Reply

